BCCI Annual Awards: Sachin Tendulkar to be honoured

Virat Kohli, VVS Laxman and Sachin Tendulkar highlight the list of Indian cricketers who will be honoured during the Board of Control for Cricket in India's annual awards ceremony to be held in Mumbai on November 21, a BCCI media release said.

Kohli will be presented with the Polly Umrigar Award for being India's top-cricketer in the 2011-12 season. With it, Kohli will have his name added with other stars who have received this honour previously including Tendulkar, and Rahul Dravid. The BCCI will present him with a trophy and a cheque of Rs. 5 lakhs.

The prolific batsman was also adjudged as ICC's ODI cricketer of the year earlier.

Veterans Laxman and Tendulkar will also be honoured at the event. While Laxman will be felicitated after announcing his retirement earlier this year, Tendulkar will be honoured for completing 100 international centuries. His 100th ton came against Bangladesh during the Asia Cup.

The other highlights of the evening will include presenting the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award to Sunil Gavaskar and the posthumous felicitation of seven legends of Indian cricket - Vijay Merchant, Vijay Manjrekar, Dattu Phadkar, Vinoo Mankad, Ghulam Ahmed, M.L. Jaisimha and Dilip Sardesai.